Living in a Third World Country (Part 5: The Close of a Chapter)

0731161530a.jpg

Me singing with a small group of Christians from the San Fernando church of Christ.

As time went on and the weeks turned into months and months into years, Trinidad became a part of who I was.  Just like every move before, I adjusted and thrived.  I was very active with the young people at San Fernando Church of Christ and was even able to participate in my dad’s six week Greek class at the school.  I participated in any crusades we were having or tent meetings.  On multiply occasions, while my dad preached on a street corner, I was there and enjoying the fellowship with other Christians and the opportunity to share the Good News to anyone who was willing to listen.

0731161607b.jpg

My dad holding a “spot” meeting.

 

The food became something I craved and still do to this day. Oh, to be able to bite into some Shark and Bake, while gazing out over the ocean at Maracas Bay.  What I wouldn’t give to be able to have my dad walk through the front door with our mid-morning snack, Doubles.  I wish I had payed more attention to my good friend Kiba, as she tried to teach me how to cook some of my favorite dishes.  I keep saying that one day I am going to attempt to cook some Roti.  As many times as I complained about the smell of the curry dishes cooking so early in the morning, I would give anything to smell that smell again.  You don’t miss it till it’s gone.

0731161606a.jpg

My awesome friend Kiba and one of the best Trini cooks I know.

 

Being in Trinidad for two years was one of the most amazing experiences of my life.  I grew so much as a person and as a Christian and I know that I am a better person because of it.  I know my parents had their doubts about uprooting their two youngest children and moving them to another part of the world, but I am so glad that they took the chance and allowed us those opportunities that so few get to experience.

As I think back on it all, I am reminded of something my oldest sister told me not long before we moved.  She and I were riding in her truck and knowing how upset and scared I was about leaving, she reminded me of the scripture in First Corinthians 10:13.  Even though this scripture was referring to temptations and that God would not allow you to be tempted more than you could handle and He would always provide a way to escape those temptations, at this moment in my life, it reminded me that I was not alone in this journey, God would be with me.  God would see me through the difficult times and help me to overcome, and He did!

Leave a Reply

