10 Ways to Keep Your Sanity as a Homeschool Mom

Being a mom is a huge responsibility and at times can be very stressful and even overwhelming, but then, add homeschool to the title of “mom” and you have added whole new level of anxiety and stress.  Because of this, I have compiled a short list to help keep you sane during your homeschooling journey.wp-1470419943881.png

  1. READ A BOOK
    No, I am not talking about a textbook or a book about homeschooling.  Get a book from your favorite author and READ!
  2. TAKE FIELD TRIPS
    Field trips are awesome.  They get you out of the house, and your kids are still learning.  Take advantage of every opportunity you have.  Find a homeschool group in your area and get active.
  3. EXERCISE
    I have found that if I stay active and exercise, my overall energy level and mood are better.
  4. TAKE A DAY OFF
    There are some weeks that just need to be four days instead of five.  Take advantage of the fact that you can do this now that you homeschool.  In fact, our typical homeschool week is four days.  It works better for us and we use that fifth day to go visiting, hang out with our friends, or just chill out at the house.
  5. LET YOUR CHILDREN HELP
    Let your children help around the house.  Depending on the age of your children, there are plenty of things they can do to help you around the house, allowing you extra time to do things that only you can do.  Teaching your children to cook and clean won’t just benefit you, but it will be something they will use for the rest of their lives.
  6. HAVE A DATE NIGHT
    It is so important that you don’t put your relationship with your husband on the back burner.  That relationship comes before your children.  It isn’t going to do your kids any good if their parents are having marital issues due to a lack of intimate time together.  You need that time with one another to reconnect and just have fun.
  7. DON’T NEGLECT YOUR PERSONAL BIBLE STUDY AND PRAYER TIME
    Obviously these aren’t in any particular order, or this would be #1.  I can not tell you how many times I have had to just stop what I was doing (teaching) and put my head in my hands and pray.  Nothing long and extensive, just a couple of seconds of, “please help me through this and not lose my cool.”  It is unreal how much that can relax me, just acknowledging that I need help. This also gives you the opportunity to just take a couple of deep breaths and regroup.  Prayer has been huge for me during this whole process.  Don’t put God on the back burner either.  Earlier I said your relationship with your husband comes first, well, that is right after your relationship with God!
  8. CONNECT WITH OTHER HOMESCHOOL MOMS
    Being able to discuss your issues and concerns about homeschooling with other people who are also going through the same things, is such a blessing.  You will find out really quick that you are not alone, and having this support is truly a must.  It is also nice to just be able to vent sometimes, release that tension.
  9. TAKE TIME FOR YOURSELF
    This is so important, at least for me. I need my alone time to recharge my battery so I am at least a halfway, normal functioning, human being.  I am never a fully normal, normal is overrated.
  10. ENJOY WHAT YOU ARE TEACHING
    If you aren’t liking the curriculum you are using, find something else.  If your kids are dreading their work, every, single day, then maybe it is time to try something different.  Mix it up, and have fun with it.  I am fully aware that there are always going to be things that we have to teach our kids, that are just not as fun or interesting as other subjects, but it shouldn’t always be a drag and a constant dread.

Learning should be fun and if you aren’t taking care of yourself then it is going to become just another chore that you are just trying to get through, each day.

May God bless you, as you find joy within your journey.

One thought on “10 Ways to Keep Your Sanity as a Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

