Back to School

wp-1471533585893.pngWe officially started back to school this week.  I had initially planned on starting back on August the 8th, but due to some family stuff, we started on the 15th (one of the awesome benefits of homeschooling).

So, I just wanted to give a few words of encouragement, by letting you in on how our week went.  Yes, the beginning may not seem very encouraging, but I promise, it gets better.

Let me just start off by saying that our Monday was a typical Monday.  You know, the kind of Monday that makes you want to crawl back in your bed, hide under your covers, and continually repeat, “This too shall pass,” over and over in your head.  Yep, that was my Monday.

See, we are trying a new internet program.  My daughter loves it and like I have mentioned before, she is very self motivated, so I don’t have to do much for her unless she has a question about something.  My son, on the other hand, hated the program and face planted on my bed after about an hour of arguing with his tablet, and mumbling under his breath all the things he would rather be doing.

So, there I was, thinking that I had everything set for the year and he throws a rather impressive curve ball.  I left the pitiful child on my bed and retreated to the computer.  After a small meltdown on my part, (at least I didn’t face plant on my bed along with my child) I began figuring out what his school year would look like… again.  BTW, I don’t know what I would do if I was homeschooling during a time without the internet and all the resources it provides.

Needless to say, I got my ducks back in a row or at least in the same pond, and set him up with a more hands on approach that he needs.  I printed out multiple worksheets and a planner to write down his daily assignments on, and there you are.  I crawled out from under my blankets and acted like an adult.  By the way, I hate adulting, just FYI.

The remainder of the week went without incident, or at least nothing interesting enough to share.  Now I am just waiting for the next pitch and hopefully, with the help of my children, we can hit it out of the park.  There will always be those days where you just want to retreat to a dark corner and give up, but if you just hang in there, “This too shall pass.”

Leave a comment, I would love to hear about how your first days back are going.

 

2 thoughts on “Back to School

Leave a Reply

